Let it go…

Today I was on a cleaning spree. Yet another one in recent times actually. Since November I’ve been slowly and methodically clearing out the spaces around me. This could be an outcome of the fact that I’ve been clearing out a lot of the spaces in my mind and perhaps now it’s become more mutual. I’ve noticed how a clean and clear surrounding physically enhances your state of mind drastically. Similarly when your mind gets clear you start to clear the clutter!

So today my target was a cupboard overflowing with my stuff from the past. This was basically lots of papers and documents and diaries and photos and other little knick knacks. As I started sorting through them I realized I had stuff right from my school day diaries to old letters and cards. All memories created over these years and still fresh in my mind.

This time I was able to let go of my need to hold on to these bits of my life from the past. I realized that these memories will remain with me and that I don’t need these relics anymore. It was a cathartic experience though certainly a backbreaking one! My dear friend who helped me through it all was witness to the whole letting go process. And I’m sure she understands.

Right now I feel utterly tired and exhausted, not just physically but also mentally as I have kinda relived the last 18 years or so of my life in one day. Yet there is a lightness I feel that is such a relief to me that I recommend such cleaning exercises for just about everyone. Letting go of your past is so important because only then can we really move forward. On to new vistas and experiences in life. After all the past is past, and there is change happening every day so we need to keep up with the world in order to stay in the loop.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m not writing off the past here. I do know the value of where I’ve been and what I’ve experienced so far. Like a wise person said, it’s all been leading up to this one day. Nothing was ever a waste and not a single experience was not worth it. Life, after all, is a combination of the past, present and future. Let us remember that the future is what drives us while the past is what grounds us. However the present is what we have at any given point of time and so let us be fully alive, in the moment and make it count. Always.

Leave a Reply

