Black or White

She says:
Life is all about Black & White.

I say:
What about all the Grey?

She says:
What Grey?

I say:
The Grey that lies between the Black & White.

She says:
There is nothing in between Black & White. There are only two options.

I say:
But I have always seen the Grey! The Grey appears when I am not happy with the two options of Black or White.

She says:
Well then you are creating the Grey. It is not actually there in the first place. Black & White are always there!

I say:
Come on! How can you say that? Do you really think there is always a clear choice between one thing or another?

She says:
Absolutely! It’s either a Yes or a No.

I say:
I don’t think it’s that simple. Life is way more complicated than that.

She says:
Are you sure? I would say we create the complications. Life is simple really!

I say:
I think I understand what you mean. I’m only saying it’s not that easy to follow.

She says:
Who says it has to be easy? Just do what you think is right. That is easy!

I say:
What if I’m wrong? What then?

She says:
Well then once you realize it is wrong, deal with the consequences and work on making it right. You still only have to do what you think is right.

I say:
Yes I see your point. But I doubt most others would. What I’m saying is that what if others don’t see the Black or the White? What then?

She says:
What others see or don’t see is not your problem. Just do what needs to be done and let them decide what they need to do. Each one can focus on their part and that is all there is to it.

I say:
Okay. So let me ask you something. What if someone asks you a question and you know they can’t deal with the answer, what would you do?

She says:
Well I believe people should ask a question only when they are really sure that they can deal with the answer! But if I were in such a situation as you say, then I would try to avoid answering it as diplomatically as I can. If they insist on my answering then I would say what I feel is the answer and let them deal with it.

I say:
I feel it is refreshingly different to think in clear Black & White terms. I know it is not easy but I understand what you mean. The things that matter are often those that don’t come easy! So let me try this approach from now on and see where it takes me. Thank you for clearing my Greys.

She says:
I didn’t do anything really. I was just sharing my philosophy of life. You agreed with me and are willing to make a change, and I think you are on the right path. Good luck.

 

Leave a Reply

