Hey, That’s No Way To Say Goodbye by Leonard Cohen

Leonard Norman Cohen, (born 21 September 1934) is a Canadian singer-songwriter, musician, poet, and novelist. His work has explored religion, politics, isolation, sexuality, and personal relationships… Cohen’s writing process, as he told an interviewer in 1998, is “like a bear stumbling into a beehive or a honey cache: I’m stumbling right into it and getting stuck, and it’s delicious and it’s horrible and I’m in it and it’s not very graceful and it’s very awkward and it’s very painful and yet there’s something inevitable about it”. In 2011, Cohen was awarded the Prince of Asturias Award for literature. ”

Today I present to you this wonderful song by Leonard Cohen. This song is very special to me as this was shared with me by a friend at a very difficult time in my life. I was in the process of letting something go and the lyrics here made sense to me at the time. It made me realize that a little bit of kindness always goes a long way in making life slightly more bearable! What I ended up learning was that even goodbyes can be done right.

Hope you enjoy this as much as I did.

~~~

Hey, That’s No Way To Say Goodbye by Leonard Cohen

I loved you in the morning, our kisses deep and warm,
your hair upon the pillow like a sleepy golden storm,
yes, many loved before us, I know that we are not new,
in city and in forest they smiled like me and you,
but now it’s come to distances and both of us must try,
your eyes are soft with sorrow,
Hey, that’s no way to say goodbye.

I’m not looking for another as I wander in my time,
walk me to the corner, our steps will always rhyme
you know my love goes with you as your love stays with me,
it’s just the way it changes, like the shoreline and the sea,
but let’s not talk of love or chains and things we can’t untie,
your eyes are soft with sorrow,
Hey, that’s no way to say goodbye.

I loved you in the morning, our kisses deep and warm,
your hair upon the pillow like a sleepy golden storm,
yes many loved before us, I know that we are not new,
in city and in forest they smiled like me and you,
but let’s not talk of love or chains and things we can’t untie,
your eyes are soft with sorrow,
Hey, that’s no way to say goodbye.

~~~

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

