#30daysofwriting – Aug 23rd

#30daysofwriting #writeyourselfalive #writeeverydamnday #justwrite

Aug 23rd

“Here’s a little sci-fi weekend writing prompt. Write your current writer self a letter from 2024? Tell yourself how you have evolved as a writer in the past 10 years, based on one or a few important decisions you made during that CRAZY 30 Day Writing Challenge in the summer of 2014. Tell yourself about your accomplishments, about the writer you’ve become, about the obstacles you’ve overcome…Write yourself that letter!” – Andrea Balt in the 30 Days of Writing Challenge.

Let me first say a big THANK YOU to Andrea for creating this wonderful opportunity for Writers. Every day I found inspiration in her words and I’m sure it inspired so many more participating in this challenge. Today I will do what she says. Let it be a letter this time. Only it will be not just about my evolution as a Writer. So here goes.

Dear H,

This is me writing to you from 2024. I want you to know where I am now and how I reached here so that you feel comforted knowing that you are on the right path and going in the right direction. But first let me go back a bit. Let me come to where you are now.

Its all so fresh in my mind. I still remember how it felt like in 2014. I know you are in a very vulnerable position, at your lowest point really. But like you know, if it can’t get any worse then it can only get better, right? So trust me when I say it is going to be really hard and you are going to have to pull up your socks and take a firm stand. As always, you will let yourself get pushed right into the corner and only when you have no other choice will you make that move. But when you do, and you will, I know that you will not back down but take one steady step after the other in the right direction. I also know that deep down inside your soul, you know what you are worth. Only when you rise to your full potential will you be able to show your true worth to the people you care about. And believe me, it is your responsibility to reach your potential. Not just for yourself but for the people who have cared enough to be with you through it all. All I can tell you is that you are going to take that first step and this time, there is no stopping you.

Now let me tell you a bit about myself. I am presently in a city where I feel safe to be myself. Where I know freedom in the real sense. A city that just lets me be. I am working in a wonderful studio, run by artists, where I am able to contribute substantially. I can proudly call myself a professional sound designer and video editor, and I am happy to say my work is well known in our circles. I am passionate about what I do and enjoy it completely. As for home, I can say I have a family I look forward to coming back to after my work. I am surrounded by people who care for me deeply and who are my chosen family and we are all happy. I can finally say I am where I am meant to be.

Trust me when I say you are going to be just fine. I know you might not be able to see it all from where you are right now. Suffice to say it will get clearer as you keep moving forward with conviction and confidence. I am writing to you so you can remind yourself whenever you feel overwhelmed by whatever life throws at you. Keep this letter with you H and trust me when I say, I got your back!

Love and peace,
H, 2024

Leave a Reply

