#30daysofwriting – Aug 19th

#30daysofwriting #writeyourselfalive #writeeverydamnday #justwrite

Aug 19th

What do I write about today? This thought has been on my mind for quite some time now and I don’t seem to have found my answer. Half the day is over and here I am. Wordless. Rather Thoughtless. And yet there are all these thoughts running through my mind. All. The. Time.

A writer needs to be completely honest to her readers. Only when you write without pretenses, can your words really make a difference to the person reading it. That could be one reason why I don’t fancy writing fiction much. I always write based on my own experiences or those of others known to me. Don’t get me wrong. I like stories. Even those that are based on pure fantasy and imagination. However I know I can write only from my heart. My mind helps with the words, but they originate from my heart. Always.

I was not like this. The truth made me uncomfortable. I used to shield myself from this world and the people in it, using a blanket of lies. I used to do it because I was afraid of getting hurt. Funny thing was I never realized that it only made me hurt more. It was a very strenuous phase of my life because lying is serious business. It not only involved using a huge amount of creativity but also constant monitoring to ensure I did not end up baring myself with the truth at any point of time. This was not an easy task.

Anyone who has used lies to deal with a situation, and I am not judging anyone here, knows how difficult it is. It is not just hard to lie to a person you care about (mostly you lie to people you care about, because you believe the truth is not going to be appreciated by them!), what is even more difficult is to make them believe it and then keep believing it for as long as required. The worry is also that someday if the truth comes out then you will have to face the consequences and often it will be worse than what you imagine! And the truth always comes out. Eventually.

If it is so worrisome and difficult to lie, then why would people still lie? Now that’s a valid question. I believe we all do it because it is the easiest short-term solution. Since we rarely spend the time to think long-term, and as we are all part of a fast-paced, living in the present kind of society, it is only natural that we feel we need to solve an issue right away and deal with the consequences later. If ever the need arises. Point is it will always resurface to haunt you. And this is something most people never learn.

I did learn. I can say I am still learning. I know its very hard to say the truth. Every. Single. Time. But I know now that this is such a freeing, liberating experience and only someone who does it consistently will know what I mean. It is addictive, in a good way. If only more people could experience the joys of this liberating experience, I’d say this world will be a much better place.

Today I am taking this pledge, to live my truth every single day. I know it is going to be difficult. I am sure there will be days when this will be almost f***ing impossible. But I also know that this is the right thing to do. I need to keep my word. Not just to myself but to you, my reader! All I ask of you is to think about what I wrote. If you agree and feel like it too, then please consider joining me in taking the pledge. Here’s to TRUTH. The Whole Simple Truth.

Leave a Reply

