#30daysofwriting – Aug 12th

#30daysofwriting #writeyourselfalive #writeeverydamnday #justwrite

Aug 12th

Robin Williams – A tribute.

Robin Williams died yesterday. I got to know it today. They say it might be suicide. I am devastated. He was one of my favorite actors. I loved his comic timing and I remember some of his movies very well. Mrs Doubtfire, Flubber, RV were all fun but the one I loved the most was Patch Adams. This was one movie where his role really moved me to tears on more than one occasion. In the movie one of his famous quotes goes like his: “You treat a disease, you win, you lose. You treat a person, I guarantee you, you’ll win, no matter what the outcome.”

Now how profound is that statement? Read it again, in case you missed the importance of that statement. How many of us are able to do this in our lives? Do we all miss the core issues when we simply react to situations, people, life, in all its confusing complexities? Do we treat the person or the disease? Are we winning or losing? Sometimes we win only when we lose. After all, it’s all in the perspective right? The glass is either half empty or half full or simply meant to be emptied.

Point is to remember that the outcome is not in our hands but we need to make our choices. And if we do that right then it doesn’t matter what the outcome is. It’s the journey that’s important always and not the destination. We have heard all of this before but does it really register? It does for me in sudden spurts. Moments of utter clarity that leave me blinded or simply overwhelmed. Moments that give meaning to my life. Moments that make my life.

Now what pains me is that someone as talented and popular and successful as Robin Williams had to feel so hopeless and helpless that he chose death over life! This is not new in the entertainment industry. There is a long list of such people and one other very dear person who resorted to this unbelievably sad deed was Whitney Houston. I remember being dumbfounded when I heard that she had committed suicide. After all, her amazing voice had been the inspiration to so many people including me and she was so popular and successful too. To think that someone like that could be so lonely that she felt compelled to make this wrong choice is simply too sad.

Here is a quote by Robin Williams that breaks my heart : “I used to think the worst thing in life was to end up all alone. It’s not. The worst think in life is ending up with people who make you feel all alone.”

How sad is that? And how true? We need to take a break from our daily routines and comfort zones and ask ourselves whether we are being true to our relationships? If we are with the right people, then remember that we need to invest ourselves fully into nurturing those relationships and if we are not, then it’s time to rock the boat and get real. Why? So that we don’t feel alone when we are with ‘our’ people and also so that we don’t make another person feel alone when they are with us! I wish we, as a society, could ensure that not a single person could feel so hopeless that they had to choose death over life!

All I can say is that I wish Robin Williams had chosen differently. I wish he had one moment of clarity. Where he could see all that life had to offer. I can only wish now.

Of course he will be missed. Missed Sorely. May his soul rest in peace.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

