#30daysofwriting – August 11th

#30daysofwriting #writeyourselfalive #writeeverydamnday #justwrite

Aug 11th

“A – Hello! How are you today?
B – Hey there! I am fine. How about you?
A – I am fine too. See you later. Take care!
B – Thanks. You too.”

This conversation happens to most of us almost on a daily basis. We bump into neighbors, acquaintances, or friends in our buildings, in the elevator, parking lots, grocery store, and so on. Each time we have this generic kind of talk going back and forth with a view to being polite and yet maintaining a sense of privacy.

Now look at this conversation for a change:

“A – Hello! How are you today?
B – Ahem… Actually not too good.
A – Uh-oh. Sorry to hear that. Do you want to talk about it?
B – Well I don’t know. Even if I did, do you have the time?
A – Truth is I’m already late for office so you’re right. I don’t have the time now. But if you want to talk, we can meet this evening? What do you say?
B – I think that would be nice. Thanks for giving me your time. I really appreciate it.
A – Don’t get formal with me now. Just do me one favor. Decide the venue for our evening date and send me a text, will you?
B – Sure. See you later then. Better not delay you further. Now run. Have a good day!
A – Thanks! You too.”

So what is the difference between the two conversations? I think there was more honesty and genuineness in the second conversation. For a change B decided to say the truth about how he/she was feeling and A was good enough to offer a listening ear. Now I know there could be various other scenarios that could play out for the same conversation. Like perhaps A offering some inane words of comfort perfunctorily and rushing off on the pretext of work and generally avoiding B for sometime thereafter so that this conversation does not repeat itself. Or B feeling foolish for having opened up so quickly to A and then backing off pretending it was nothing really to talk about. And so on and so forth. You get my drift?

What I am trying to say here is that if each one of us were able to be honest with each other then I believe most of us would have more meaningful relationships with the people we intact with on a regular basis. This means our most immediate community that we are all a part of. Just imagine how wonderful it would be if we could be free with everyone we meet without any worry about being misunderstood, judged or hurt by them? If we all shared our lives with our community then each one of us would be able to appreciate what others are going through and this in turn would make us value our lives more or get help with improving our situation in some way.

Maybe this is a simplistic way of thinking. A kind of Utopia, that does not or might not exist. But then again one can always set the example and get the ball rolling. Maybe it will set off a spark that will, in turn, ignite the revolution we all so desperately need? What do you think? Why don’t you tell me? I would really like to know.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

