#30daysofwriting – August 10th

#30daysofwriting #writeyourselfalive #writeeverydamnday #justwrite

Aug 10th

‘Expectation is the root of all heartache’ – William Shakespeare

Shakespeare got it right there! I know it only too well.

See it’s like this. I have always been a writer. Not in the regular sense, as in an author or published or any of that. What I mean is that I have always been scribbling random stuff in notebooks, diaries, journals, letters, emails and so on. I have always had something to write about but it has never been public. My writing has almost always been for myself or for a few who are really close to me. It has only been in the last couple of years that I have finally reached the stage where I started a blog and then actually started to invite people to visit my blog and actively yearned for feedback of any kind.

I realized that if i had a story to tell then I needed an audience too. Not just to listen to my story but to actually react to it. I wanted to know if my writing made sense to others and whether it made them think differently, or see things in a new perspective. I wanted to know whether sharing my words made a difference to my readers. And though I don’t have a very big audience, I know that my writing has affected some of my readers. If the effect on them has been such that their lives have been altered even in a very small manner, then I must say I feel vindicated somehow. That is a relief. Else why would I share my thoughts with random strangers?

Now here I am. Participating in this exciting challenge – 30 days of writing. What is interesting is that I am part of a group of wonderful people from all over the world and every one of them is making an honest attempt at writing every single day in this month. And what is more wonderful is that we are all proclaiming this in a public forum, in this case it’s Facebook. So we are being watched by our set of Facebook friends and our progress is being monitored by at least a few. This ensures that we are motivated to keep doing our bit of every day writing and this is so important for any challenge. The tricky bit is that with each day of writing I believe there is a kind of expectation set in the minds of our readers. They look forward to each new day and expect something good or better than before. This can put a huge pressure on the writer and possibly the writing is going to be affected by this pressure to do better!

So Shakespeare really knew what he was talking about. The heartache that builds up due to the pressure of expectation can be really a big BIG dampener on one’s writing flow. Yet if we are honest about what’s going on inside our hearts, and if we are able to show our vulnerability through our words then I know even the pressure of expectation cannot keep anyone from writing their hearts out. So here is wishing good luck to all writers who might be facing this inevitable pressure. Hang in there buddies, it’s all good. Just keep writing. One word at a time.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

