True Self

You came like a bolt from the sky
Sending electric jolts through my body
We connected, we conversed, we flirted, we shared laughs
Forgetting all around us, creating a new reality for ourselves.

I forgot my immediate world, you forgot yours
It was easy for me, maybe not so much for you
We both went with the flow, not resisting
Willing it to take us along… and it did, oh how it did.

I was in a trap then, and you set me free
In every sense … And I loved you for it
I was not sure if I did the same for you
But I knew you needed me, just as I needed you.

We went through some intense moments
Filled with myriad emotions, many old some new
Enjoying it all while it lasted
Knowing our days together were ending soon.

I was open to you, maybe you were not completely so
We shared a night together
A night of passion and love
Sharing a warmth we both needed then.

And it all ended sooner than we imagined
the pain of separation was not new
but this time it hurt… hurt real bad
Pain made me realize, I had a heart!

We went our separate ways
both not forgetting those memories
holding on to some, letting go of some
and always staying connected.

Those moments of pleasure and pain
both equally intense and real
brought out a side to me that was hidden so long
something only you recognized, and knew all along.

Sometimes you have to let everything go
Purge yourself, and then you’ll find
That when you are free, your true creativity
Your true self, will emerge… and it did, oh how it did.

Now nearly after a decade, you come storming back into my life
A lot has changed, and yet much remains the same
We crackle and sizzle once again
This time, it’s more mutual and satisfying.

Timing is everything, they say
And I doubt we have it … alas, not meant to be
And yet there is so much catharsis
this time, it is more real… and yet surreal.

We part, yet again … gone too soon
And the pain returns, I’m in touch with my heart again
Perhaps this time my true self will stay with me
As I hope my memories stay with you… forever!

© H.R. (25/03/2012)

Leave a Reply

