What’s writing really about? asked the poet Ted Hughes. “It’s about
trying to take fuller possession of the reality of your life”

(From the book “ten poems to last a lifetime” by Roger Housden)

One thought on “

  1. I love this quote too!!! You are the quote queen!! (Try saying that one 3 times fast!)
    RYC: wow…really interesting (the definition of coincidence). I have a Webster’s dictionary beside me and it says: “A seemingly planned sequence of accidentally occurring events.” Pretty close to what your definition says.
    I read both poems you sent me to..and I can’t believe how good they are. With “When Death Comes”, my favorite part was the final 8 lines. Especially the last line, “I don’t want to end up simply having visited this world.”. With “The Art of Disappearing” I couldn’t believe how much I related to it. What a magnificently handy poem to even put on my wall. To remind me to “just say NO” sometimes. lol. This is so timely for me. Thank you.
     

Leave a Reply

